Jeff Hagood: Always Working To Perfect My Craft

img_47781-2Jeff Hagood | Age: 25 | Hometown: Dumas, Arkansas


Tell us who you are and what you do!

My name’s Jeff Hagood and I go under the moniker “DoomCloud” for my freelance work. I am many things, haha. First and foremost a cinematographer/videographer, digital artist/illustrator, photographer, graphic designer and amateur animator. I say first and foremost videographer because though drawing was my original skill, I’ve always had creative ideas and everything I drew were concepts to movies and cartoons that I visualized in my head. Drawing was simply a way of putting my ideas down sort of like notes. I’ve always wanted to be a filmmaker.

As a kid, I was very introverted. I didn’t go out much. My environment as far as my hometown and later on Little Rock didn’t shape me as much as the things I enjoyed to watch. My father was/is a huge influencer because he’s the reason I ever took interest in things such as Star Wars, Harry Potter, LOTR, etc. He’s as much of a film buff as I am and he recognized my desire to create my own comic book stories and ideas. A lot of my childhood centered around watching cartoons and movies; they shaped my imagination. Drawing has always been second nature. In high school I got my first digital camera, a simple point and shoot. I started off just by shooting random funny videos with my friends. An old friend of mine began shooting shorts with me and we called ourselves MJ Productions (Marquis and Jeff). A couple of my videos reached around 50,000 views but I realized the humor was very dull and mainly centered around just foul language with no substance. I abandoned doing funny videos after starting college, but then a year later after transferring to UALR (The University of Arkansas at Little Rock)  I suddenly felt the urge to get into more serious filming. Friends of mine were/are local music artists and we planned on me getting a DSLR and to shoot professional-looking music videos. After months of researching how to use DSLRs and saving up, I bought a Canon t2i and shot my first music video a week later. I am currently working on a degree centered around graphic design but I’ve gained most of my experience and knowledge by doing freelance work on the side.


general-kahlo


What is the inspiration for your work?

“The older I’ve become, the more I tend to veer more towards dark and emotional themes.”

It’s hard to sum up my inspirations. As far as film I look up to many filmmakers such as Steven Speilberg, Zack Snyder, Guillermo Del Toro, etc. With my animation work my biggest inspiration is Tim Burton and cartoons such as Courage the Cowardly dog and the Stop-motion animation studio called Laika that is known for movies such as Paranorman and Coraline. The older I’ve become, the more I tend to veer more towards dark and emotional themes. All of my personal non-commissioned creative work tends to have a sort of weird or dark vibe with a vivid display of emotion, I simply love being weird. #StayWeird

Leave a Reply

